Bombs Away! (Easy DIY bath bombs)

I love to take baths every week – like legit maybe 3-4 a week, followed by a good rinse off in the shower of course. Added that part after one of my super OCD hygienic friends told me in some random convo that it’s basically like sitting in your own funk… (And with bubbles!) Lovely..

There’s something extremely therapeutic to the soul soaking in an almost scalding tub of foamy heaven. “Calgon, take me away.”

But let me be honest, a box or bottle of bath soak only lasts me a good 3-4 weeks, if I’m taking my standard 10-12 baths a month. Rub a dub dub, dollar bills in the tub!?!? Nay… There must be another way! Oh, and there is… Take it to the Pinterest Gods. (Or Goddesses)

I give you Pinterest Exhibit A. Probably more like Exhibit F or G considering how many different formulas/recipes I tried, just to create the perfect sudsin’ action. Not to mention the smell!?! You are going to think you’ve died and gone to bath-time heaven, after stopping along the way at a quaint roadside diner that serves the BEST lemon meringue pie. Lemony freakin’ Snicket.

What you need:

  • Large Mixing Bowl
  • Small Mixing Bowel
  • Whisk
  • Measuring Cups & Spoons
  • 3 tbsp Lemon, Dried Zest (I grated a LOT of lemon zest the night before, so that it could dry overnight)

 

 

  • 1 cup Baking soda

 

  • 1/2 cup Corn starch

 

  • 3 tbsp Epsom salts

 

  • 1/2 tsp Vanilla

 

  • 2 tsp Coconut oil

 

  • 15 drops Lemon essential oil

 

  • 3/4 tsp Water

 

  • 1/2 cup Citric Acid (I found it best to purchase on Amazon, cause you can get like a 5 lb. bag for around $13)
  • Bath Bomb Molds (I initially purchased cheap plastic ornaments from Hobby Lobby to start, until they eventually cracked from freezing so many times. Ornament Mold – Hobby Lobby

 

Click here to make your own bombs! (Not the I live at home in my Grandma’s basement kind either, ya sicko!!)

A big round of applause to Nicole at Mom Always Finds Out for the recipe! The only thing I would suggest if your like me and can’t wait overnight for the balls to set up, is to put them in the freezer for about 1-2 hours once you load the molds.  You can then easily pop them out and use immediately if you want to. Who are we kidding!?!? Kids in a candy store, people…

Also, let me add, the base recipe for these bath bombs is hands down the BEST I have found after several failed attempts of the bath bombs not setting up right, falling apart, or not fizzing in the water. These literally will blow your mind in the good kinda way! 🙂 I even tried playing around with food coloring on a few different recipes, but there was a mishap involving the color blue and the toilet – don’t recommend unless you really like the Smurfs. Full details omitted for self preservation and to save face. *Cough*

Happy bathing! Please practice water safety caution and try not to go all Britney circa 2003.  Everytime – Britney Spears

P.S. I LOVEEEEEE BRITNEY. (Don’t get it twisted.)

Peace.

XOXO,

-B

2 thoughts on “Bombs Away! (Easy DIY bath bombs)

Leave a comment